The National Academy of Construction (NAC), Austin, Texas, has elected 10 construction executives to become members in 2009, recognized for past and expected future contributions to the industry. NAC, founded in 1999, now has 110 members.

The 2009 newly elected members are:

JOHN M. DIONISIO, CEO and president of AECOM, Los Angeles, for "exemplary leadership in advancing the state-of-the-art in project management of transportation sector projects."

RONALD J. GAFFORD, chairman, president and CEO of Austin Industries, Dallas, for his role as a "recognized leader" of a diverse group of companies and major contributions to professional and civic organizations.

G. WILLIAM GILFILLAN, a former top executive of several large heavy construction firms, "recognized for decades of solid leadership through his companies and premier construction industry organizations."

GEORGE T. HEERY, chairman and CEO of the Brookwood Group, Atlanta, and long time industry executive, cited as "an innovator and leader in design and development of the profession of construction management and program management."

MELISSA B. HERKT, president of process systems and solutions for Emerson Process Management, St. Louis, for her role "as an industry leader in project management as an owner, and in system development through her company and industry research organizations."

LEE A. McINTIRE CEO of CH2M Hill Cos., Denver, elected to NAC "for being a leader's leader in advancing the technology, business models and EPC project performance around the world."

ROBERT S. O'NEIL, former president and CEO of Parsons Transportation Group, and previously, of De Leuw, Cather and Co., "for exceptional leadership in advancing the effectiveness of project delivery in the transportation sector."

JOHN E. SCHAUFELBERGER, professor and chair of construction management at the University of Washington, Seattle, and retired Army Corps of Engineers officer, "for outstanding leadership as a professor and author of textbooks, who brings his many years of industry experience into academia."

MATTHEW M. WALSH, CEO of the Walsh Group Ltd., Chicago, for "leadership through his company in advancing major underground and transportation projects and through professional and academic organizations."

CLIFTON D. WRIGHT, former executive of 3D/International and retired US Air Force officer, "for advancement of project delivery methods in both the military and private sectors, as well as academic and research organizations."