Associated Builders and Contractors recognized 16 member companies and two individuals for their outstanding safety efforts at the ABC Safety and Scholarship Awards Banquet held in Denver on May 19.

 “ABC congratulates our safety award winners for their outstanding safety records and proven dedication to construction work place safety,” said Mark Latimer, president and CEO of ABC Rocky Mountain. “Creating safe work environments is a top priority for ABC, and we are proud to recognize companies who strive to maintain outstanding safety programs, policies and procedures.”

Most Improved Safety Program

  • Gracon Corp., Loveland

Outstanding Safety Program for General Contractors

  • Less than 150,000 man-hours, Stanek Constructors Inc., Golden
  • 150,000 – 350,000 man-hours (tie), Gracon Corp., Loveland; Roche Constructors Inc., Greeley
  • 350,000 – 750,000 man-hours, Adolfson & Peterson Construction Inc., Aurora
  • Over 750,00 man-hours (tie), Hensel Phelps Construction Co., Greeley; Western Summit Constructors Inc., Denver

Outstanding Safety Program for Subcontractors

  • Less than 150,000 man-hours (tie); Central Mechanical Inc., Erie; Metro Fence Co. Inc., Commerce City, Littleton
  • 250,000 – 500,000 man-hours, Design Mechanical, Louisville
  • Over 500,000 man-hours, LPR Construction Co., Loveland

Outstanding Safety Record—General Contractors

  • Up to 50 employees, dcb Construction Co. Inc., Denver
  • 50 – 100 employees, Pinkard Construction Co., Lakewood, Golden
  • 201 – 1,000 employees, Adolfson & Peterson Construction Inc., Aurora
  • Over 1,000 employees, Hensel Phelps Construction Co., Greeley

Outstanding Safety Record—Subcontractors

  • Up to 50 employees, Bergelectric Corp., Denver
  • 50 – 100 employees, Piper Electric Co. Inc., Arvada
  • 101 – 200 employees, Design Mechanical, Louisville
  • 201 – 1,000 employees, Interstates Cos., Ft. Collins

Two additional awards recognized individuals, rather than companies, for their outstanding safety records. The first award, for Outstanding Field Professional, was given to Curt Ketcherside of LPR Construction Co. in Loveland. Glenn Davis of Casey Industrial Inc. in Broomfield received the Tony Dietrich Safety Professional of the Year Award.