The 2013 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects elevated 122 AIA members to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession. Of those 122 AIA members, four from Colorado were chosen.

The fellowship program was developed to elevate architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

Out of a total AIA membership of more than 83,000, there are just over 3,100 distinguished members with the honor of fellowship and honorary fellowship. The elevation to fellowship is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in AIA who have excelled in one or more of the nomination categories.

The 2013 Fellows from Colorado are:

• David Barrett, FAIA, Barrett Studio Architects, Boulder

• Christopher J. Green, FAIA, Ago Studios, Avon

• Sarah Semple Brown, FAIA, Semple Brown Design, Denver

• Michael O. Winters, FAIA, Fentress Architects, Denver

The 2013 Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the AIA 2013 National Convention and Design Exposition to be held June 20 – 22 in Denver. Nearly 20,000 architects and other design and construction industry professionals are expected to attend.
AIA Colorado will serve as host chapter for the convention, and on January 24, held an official kick-off party for the convention, which is themed “Building Leaders.” While most of the convention’s programming is intended for members of the design and construction industry, AIA Colorado will also be hosting several events and activities for the general public.

One of AIA Colorado’s goals is to generate a dialogue on design and architecture with the general public. The convention creates the opportunity to explain what architects do and the value they bring to their communities. Keynote speakers will include former Secretary of State and Ret. General Colin Powell, TOMS Shoes Founder Blake Mycoskie and Architecture for Humanity Co-founder Cameron Sinclair. Each will focus on the theme of leadership and highlight the value of architecture and how it affects the world.