The American Institute of Architects Colorado presented 13 awards and honors, as well as 16 scholarships and grants, during its annual Young Architects Awards Gala (YAAG) on April 20 in Denver. YAAG is held annually in April in conjunction with Colorado Architecture Month.

The following awards and honorable mentions were selected from entries submitted by firms, designers, students and young architects (licensed 10 years or less) from across the state. The entries were judged by a jury of architects and community leaders, facilitated by Mark Gelernter, dean of the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Colorado Denver.

2012 Award Winners

Young Architect of the Year

Brad Tomecek, Studio H:T, Denver and Boulder

Intern of the Year

Kevin Keady, RNL, Denver

Instructor of the Year

Erik Sommerfeld, University of Colorado Denver

Honorable Mention: Scott Lawrence

Mentor of the Year

Sarah Rege

Honorable Mention: Gargi Duttgupta

Student Portfolio

Michelle Han

Honorable Mentions:  Brita Gill Comacchio, Randall Hatley

Graphics – Digital Media

Gregory Zamell

Honorable Mention: Caitlin Blythe

Craftsmanship – Architectural

Kimberly Sieradzki and Will Koning

Honorable Mentions: Studio H:T, Jennifer Reece

Craftsmanship - Artistic

Studio H:T, Denver and Boulder, and Bill Daher

Honorable Mention: Kimberly Sieradzi, Zach Writer, Taylor Hillyard, Kevin Chenyang Xu

Built Architecture

Studio H:T, Denver and Boulder

Honorable Mentions: James Anderson, David Hevesi, Zia Hooker, Courtney Hughes, Cam Minor, Milen Milev, Michelle Pollock, Josh Young

Unbuilt Architecture

Michelle Han and Dominique Kletter

Honorable Mention: Studio H:T

2012 Honors

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

Stephen Cole

Henry Adams Medal

Christopher Cherabie

Henry Adams Certificate of Merit