The American Institute of Architects Colorado Chapter presented 21 awards and honors during its annual YAAG awards program held on May 9 at OZ Architecture in Denver.

Photo courtesy of AIA Colorado
Photo courtesy of AIA Colorado

The following 12 awards and honorable mentions were selected from entries submitted by firms, designers, students and young architects (licensed 10 years or less) from across the state.

The entries were judged by a jury of architects and community leaders: Dr. Mark Gelernter (Jury Chair) - Dean of the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Colorado Denver, Harvey Hine, Maria Cole, Andrea Springer, Rick Peterson, Rick Sommerfeld, Jo Vandenburg and Christopher O’Hara.

The winners are:

• Emerging Professional of the Year: Katie Donahue, Gensler

• Emerging Professional Development by a Firm: WORKSHOP8, Boulder

• Built Architecture, Winner: Lloyd (Chris) Fulenwider; Project: Emerson Lofts

Honorable Mention: Project: Hozho House; Team: Shawn Adams, Erica Alfaro, Patrick Beseda, Gregory Behlen, Anastasia Chmel, Megan Garret, Patricia Gut, Amy Keil, Anna Huey, Henry Rahn, Foster Ramsey, Scott Rank, Joey Stevenson, Dana Trill, Iassen Vladimirov, Megan Voiles, Seth Willison, Kristin Zuro, Catalina Pedraza,  Lacy Williams

• Unbuilt Architecture: John Gibbons; Project: Telluride Bathhouse

• Craftsmanship - Architectural: Winner: Shannon Ferguson; Project: The Lab at Point Lobos

Honorable Mention: Michael Reilly; Project: Point Lobos Dive Center

• Craftsmanship - Artistic: Winners: Yandy Cheng, Katie Donahue, Mason Limke; Project: The Pulp Wall Installation

• Interior Architecture: Winner: Paul Andersen, Jason King; Project: The Bubble Garden

• Most Sustainable Project: No Winner

Honorable Mention: Project: Skow House; Team: Will Koning, Ellen Adams, Brett Blackmon, Lura Blumenfled, Jay Burkhalter, Glen Camuso, Jacob Ebling, William Koning, William Murray, JD Signom, Rebecca Sockwell

• Student Portfolio: Winner: Iassen Vladimirov

Honorable Mention: John Gibbons

Online Awards

New this year, emerging professionals submitted their work into 10 people’s-choice voting categories. Here are the nine winners.

• Where’s Waldo? - The Most Creative Use of a Scaled Figure: Alicia Johannesen

• Kickin’ It Beaux Arts - Rendering Done by Hand: Chris Toothaker

• To the Cloud - Best Digital Rendering: Chris Toothaker

• Divine Detail - Best Architectural Detail: Will Babbington

• Phenomenology - Best Use of Innovative Materials: Yandy Cheng, Katie Donahue, Mason Limke

• Blur the Line - Best Example of Relationship Between Interior & Exterior: Adam Harding

• The Artist Formerly Known As …- Best Example of an Elevation: Katie Donahue

• FLO - Best Site Solution / Creativity with Landscape: Charles Starr

• Project Runway Award - Best Dressed Emerging Professional: Korey White