Judging for ENR New York’s Best Projects 2017 is now complete, and the winners are revealed below.

The winners listed below will be profiled in depth in the September issue of ENR New York, and at an awards presentation on Sept. 27. 

Click here for more info or to register.

Our panel of industry judges reviewed and discussed projects located throughout New York and New Jersey. This year's judges included James Mooney, Head of EH&S, Lendlease; Delia Shumway, Director of Projects, New Line Structures; Anthony Attanasio, Executive Director, Utility & Transporation Contractors Association; Christopher Mills, Executive Vice President, Plaza Construction; Denise Berger, Assistant Chief Engineer/Operations, Engineering Department, The Port Authority of NY & NJ; Andrew Hollweck, Senior Vice President, New York Building Congress; Donal O'Sullivan, President and CEO, Navillus Contracting; and Howard Rowland, President EW Howell Construction Group. 

Judges from across the industry evaluated projects based on: on the ability of the project team to overcome challenges, contribution to the industry and community, safety and construction and design quality. Due to the large number of entries, we can only honor a fraction of the projects that are submitted each year, so if your project didn’t win this year, please be sure to submit next year!

Judges were given the option to select any combination of Best Project-level category winners and Award of Merit honorees. Judges will also designate an overall Project of the Year from the Best Project-level winners listed below – we’ll announce that winner in our September issue and at the banquet. Safety winners have now been added to this blog post. 

Also at the banquets, we will also take the opportunity to honor the firms that were selected throughout the year as our Owner, Design Firm, Contractor and Specialty Contractor of the Year, as well as the ENR New York’s Legacy Award winners. Hope to see you there!




Second Avenue Subway Phase 1, submitted by AECOM


Award of Merit: Design-Build Services for the Reconfiguration of Johnson Ave Yard MTA, Long Island Rail Road, submitted by Gannett Fleming Inc.



The Lenfest Center for the Arts, submitted by Lend Lease (US) Construction LMB Inc.


Award of Merit: Irish Repertory Theater, submitted by NYC Dept. of Design and Construction



Fort Dix 16.5 MW Landfill Ballast Mount, submitted by 
Conti Enterprises, Inc.


Government/Public Building

Stony Brook University Toll I & Toll II, submitted by 
Aurora Contractors, Inc.


Award of Merit: Emergency Medical Station 50, submitted by NYC Dept. of Design and Construction


Green Project

Etsy Headquarters, submitted by Gensler



NewYork-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital, submitted by Gilbane Building Company


Higher Education/Research

The Jerome L. Greene Science Center, submitted by Lendlease (US) Construction LMB Inc.


Award of Merit: Roy and Diana Vagelos Education Center - Columbia University Medical Center, submitted by Sciame Construction LLC.



Replacement of Kosciuszko Bridge - Phase I, submitted by HNTB New York Engineering and Architecture, PC


Award of Merit: Route 18 Bridge over Route 1


Interiors/Tenant Improvement

Boston Consulting Group - 10 Hudson Yards, submitted by Structure Tone


Award of Merit: Empire State Building: Tower Reconfiguration Project, submitted by Skanska USA Building Inc.


Landscape/Urban Development 

Ford Amphitheater and Seaside Park Community Arts Center, submitted by Hunter Roberts Construction Group, LLC



Princeton Pike Site Development, submitted by AKF Group


Award of Merit: 860 Washington Street, submitted by CNY 



New York Public Library Rose Reading Room Restoration, submitted by AECOM Tishman



56 Leonard, submitted by Lendlease (US) Construction LMB Inc.


Award of Merit: 432 Park Avenue, submitted by Lendlease (US) Construction LMB Inc.


Small Project

Training Recreation Education Center (TREC), submitted by ikon.5 architects


Award of Merit: Reconstruction of Union Turnpike Retaining Wall, submitted by SI Engineering, P.C.


Specialty Contracting

Restoration of the Wavertree Historic Vessel, submitted by NYC Dept. of Design and Construction 



United States Tennis Association Arthur Ashe Stadium Retractable Roof, submitted by AECOM Hunt


Award of Merit: Transformation of the New York State Fairgrounds, submitted by M.J. Engineering and Land Surveying, P.C.



NC-CM03, Newtown Creek WWTP upgrade, submitted by Michael Baker International


Award of Merit: Former Town of Salina Landfill Remediation Project, submitted by CHA Consulting, Inc.


Excellence in Safety

United States Tennis Association Arthur Ashe Stadium

Retractable Roof, submitted by AECOM Hunt


Award of Merit: Princeton Pike Site Development, submitted by AKF Group