Cathleen McGuigan has been named editor-in-chief of Architectural Record, the sister publication of Engineering News-Record. Formerly architecture critic and arts editor for Newsweek, she replaces Robert Ivy, who left the role in February to become executive vice president and CEO of the American Institute of Architects. Formerly, McGuigan was an architectural consultant and remains an adjunct professor at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism in Manhattan.

Maj. Gen. Merdith W.B. “Bo” Temple is set to become the U.S. Army's acting chief of engineers when the planned retirement of Lt. Gen. Robert L. Van Antwerp takes effect. Antwerp has been at the post since 2007. An Army Corps of Engineers spokesman says no official departure date has been set. Temple, who has been Corps deputy chief and deputy commanding general since 2009, will be acting chief until the Senate confirms a new commander. Lt. Gen. Thomas P. Bostick is nominated for the post. The Defense Dept. said on April 21 that Maj. Gen. John W. Peabody is named commander of the Corps Mississippi Valley division in Vicksburg, Miss. Currently head of its Great Lakes and Ohio River division in Cincinnati, he will succeed Maj. Gen. Michael J. Walsh. The change of command date and Walsh’s next position were not disclosed.

James S. Nevada has been named chief financial officer and executive vice president of WSP Flack + Kurtz, the New York City engineer. He was CFO of W.S. Atkins/Faithful + Gould, Princeton, N.J., as well as a board member of consultant Skelly and Loy.


LeChase Construction Services LLC, Rochester, N.Y., has elevated William L. Mack and Paul H. Sevene Jr. to the new position of chief operating officer; Mack is now COO of the firm’s Northeast region, and Sevene is COO of the Southeast. They had been executive vice presidents.

Joseph B. Fay Co., a Russellton, Pa.-based heavy construction and demolition contractor, has named Lester C. “Les” Snyder III as president and CEO. He had been president and chief operating officer of contractor Barton Malow Co. In his new roles, Snyder succeeds Bob Fay and Shawn Fay, who are now executive vice presidents. Snyder became COO of Barton Malow in 2007 and president in 2009. He also is past chairman of the Associated General Contractors' building division.


Foster Wheeler AG, Zug, Switzerland, has promoted Jon Nield to vice president of its project risk management group, responsible for implementing risk management policy for proposals and contract operations. He had been project executive on the company’s Pluto I LNG project and previously served as operations director of Foster Wheeler-United Kingdom. He succeeds David Wardlaw, who retired on May 1 but will remain a consultant to the company through 2011.

Carolyn J. Merry has been named 2012 chairwoman of the Coalition of Geospatial Organizations, a Bethesda, Md.-based network of 12 groups in the geospatial field. Currently the coalition delegate from the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, she also is chairwoman of the civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science department at Ohio State University, Columbus. Merry, who also serves as director of its Center for Mapping, is a former research physical scientist at the U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory in Hanover, N.H. The coalition represents more than 30,000 producers and users of geospatial data and technology.


The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association, Alexandria, Va., has named Pam Whitted and Tim Reagan as senior vice presidents for legislative and regulatory affairs and for member services, respectively. It also hired Dale T. Drysdale as vice president for occupational and environmental health. Drysdale had been division manager at Rimkus Consulting Group Inc., a Houston-based forensic consultant. Previously, Drysdale was coordinator for global health, safety and environment standards and policy at Halliburton.

AECOM Technology Corp., Los Angeles, has announced executive changes related to management succession that will take effect on Oct. 1. President and CEO John M. Dionisio is named to the additional role of chairman, succeeding Richard G. Newman, who becomes chairman emeritus and remains a company board member. Replacing Dionisio as president is Michael S. Burke, who has served as chief financial officer and executive vice president since 2006. Dionisio, who joined AECOM in 1971, has been CEO since 2005. Jane A. Chmielinski, executive vice president in charge of Americas operations and chief corporate officer since 2009, has been promoted to COO and president of the Americas. She joined the company in 1993. Stephen M. Kadenacy, who joined AECOM in 2008 as senior vice president of finance, will succeed Burke. AECOM has 45,000 global employees.

Myron A. Gee has been named vice president of operations for Structure Tone Southwest, the Dallas-based unit of New York City construction and interiors firm Structure Tone. He had been president of Phoenix Construction Services and Phoenix Commercial, firms he also founded.