Many people serve to improve the construction industry every day. Each year since 1964, the editors of Engineering News-Record have reviewed the stories that appeared during the year and selected individuals for special recognition. The ENR Newsmakers are chosen for their innovations and achievements, for giving back to the industry and the public, and for going beyond their day-to-day jobs. These stories were covered in the print and web pages of ENR’s national and regional editions and on All the winners will be honored at a gala in New York City on April 18. One ENR Newsmaker already has been chosen to win our highest honor, the Award of Excellence, and will be the subject of a cover story in the April 22 issue. In the pages that follow, we salute this year’s ENR Newsmakers.

Michael Alacha | Dean Allen | Sir John Armitt | Charles A. Bacon | Avery Bang | Neil E. Boudreau | Antonio Cardilli | Jakob Carnemark | Mitchell Collins | Glen Frank | Don Hillis | Wayne Jones | Richard M. Kunnath | Randy Larson | Jonathan Mallie | Mike Parnell | Chris Pyke | Roberto Ramirez | Mark Silvera | Barry Thacker | Steven Tipping | Franz-Josef Ulm | Lisa Washington | Brian Winter | Doug Woods


ENR Newsmakers 2013