TEXO presented its 2010 Distinguished Award winners for exceptional building and personal achievements in Dallas, Fort Worth and East Texas communities. TEXO is association formed between consolidation of the North/East Texas Chapter of the Associated General Contractors and the Associated Builders and Contractors North Texas.

div id="articleExtrasA" div id="articleExtrasB"

Companies recognized for their outstanding safety programs with Construction Safety Excellence Awards at the local level and were forwarded to a national competition, where CF Jordan Construction LLC won third place in its category.

Other safety winners were Dee Brown Inc., Lasco Acoustics & Drywall, RBR Construction, Inc., SEDALCO., MEDCO Construction LLC, CF Jordan Construction, Constructors & Associates Inc. and Fluor Enterprises.

Specialty superintendent of the year was Hector Molina of K Post Co. and the general superintendent of the year was Jerry Simsik of MDI Inc. General Contractors.

The Member of the Year Awards were established to highlight TEXO member firms and individuals of member firms who best exemplify the tenets of the TEXO organization. The Women/Minority Business firm of the year is Azteca Enterprises, Inc.; architectural firm of the year, Corgan Assoc.; industry firm of the year, Acton Mobile Industries; specialty contractor of the year, Brandt; and general contractor of the year, Hill & Wilkinson.

The Safety Professional of the Year Award for specialty safety professional was awarded to Jeff Bills of Humphrey & Associates Inc.; the general safety professional of the year was Hank Mouser of Balfour Beatty.

The Magnolia Woman of the Year Award, which recognizes women in construct for excellence throughout their career, went to Becky Burleson of Linbeck Group.

The Munson–Young Award, which recognizes industry leaders for significant sustained contributions in government affairs, went to SEDALCO president Tom Kader.

The Skill, Integrity and Responsibility Award went to Dallas ISD Deputy Chief of Operations Phil Jimerson. He has directed the planning and implementation of the 2002 and 2008 DISD Bond Programs.

Special recognition went to Manhattan Construction for the Cowboys Stadium. Manhattan was recognized as the general contractor that used the greatest number of TEXO member specialty contractors and industry members on a project entered into the competition. Manhattan utilized 97 TEXO members on the Cowboys Stadium project.

The 2010 Distinguished Project Awards include a variety of categories. For more on the winning projects and teams, visit texoassociation.org.

div id="articleExtras"