Members of the Associated Builders and Contractors Rocky Mountain Chapter were recognized in May by their peers within the commercial construction industry at the annual ABC Safety and Scholarship Awards Banquet held at the Marriott City Center in downtown Denver.

The Safety Training and Evaluation Process (STEP) awards are granted by ABC National based on applications. The awards are given in four categories—silver, gold, platinum and diamond. They are based on 20 key elements of a contractor’s safety program that include safety policies, employee commitment and training, management commitment and budgeting.

Member firms receiving the highest awards of the evening were Hensel Phelps of Greeley and Mortenson Construction of Denver. They were the only Rocky Mountain Chapter members to achieve the elite Diamond STEP level.

Platinum-level winners included Casey Industrial Inc., Westminster; EC Electric Inc., Grand Junction; FCI Constructors Inc., Longmont; Interstates Cos., Ft. Collins; LPR Construction Co., Loveland; MTech Mechanical Inc., Westminster; Piper Electric Co. Inc., Arvada; RK Mechanical Inc., Denver; Waner Construction, Littleton; and Western Summit Constructors Inc., Denver.

Gold STEP awards were presented to Bergelectric Corp., Littleton; dcb Construction Co. Inc., Denver; Design Mechanical Inc., Louisville; Encore Electric Inc., Englewood; Fiore & Sons Inc., Denver; Gregory Electric Inc., Loveland; Interstate Electrical Contractors Inc., Wheat Ridge, Metro Fence Co. Inc., Commerce City; Milender White Construction Co., Arvada; Northern Electric Inc., Westminster; Power Design Inc., St. Petersburg, Fla.; Roche Constructors Inc., Denver; and Shaw Construction, Denver.

Achieving Silver STEP awards were ADK Electric Corp., Englewood; Adolfson & Peterson Construction, Aurora; AMI Mechanical Inc., Thornton; Central Mechanical Inc., Erie; Design Mechanical Inc., Louisville; Diamond Drilling and Sawing Co. Inc., Denver; Duro Electric Co., Englewood; Greiner Electric LLC, Littleton; LEI Co. Inc., Denver; Pinkard Construction Co., Lakewood; San Juan Construction, Montrose; Spacecon Specialty Contractors LLC, Colorado Springs and White Construction Group, Castle Rock.