In early June, AGC Colorado honored member companies for their safety programs at the AGC/C Safety Awards Luncheon, which featured speaker Karen Curran from Pinnacol Assurance.

Photo courtesy of AGC of Colorado
Andy LeMay, AGC Colorado director of safety and stormwater, presents a first-place CSEA award to Daniel Milinazzo and Allan Bliesmer of Hensel Phelps Construction.

The AGC Construction Safety and Excellence Awards (CSEA) is one of the industry’s elite safety excellence awards program, recognizing companies for excellence safety and loss prevention programs achieved through management commitment, employee involvement, and program innovation.

Two AGC/C firms received awards for winning in each of their CSEA categories: Hensel Phelps, a first place, and Metropolitan Glass a third. The CSEA competition was held at the AGC National Convention the first week of March and the winners were originally announced during an awards breakfast.

The National AGC Safety Awards (NASA) evaluate a firm’s safety record against other firms of similar size and construction type across the country and recognizes those with excellent safety records.

AGC provides certificates of commendation to members who have participated in the awards program for three consecutive years and who have achieved a zero-lost-workday incident rate for one category or an incident rate below 25% of their division rate for the second category of awards.

AGC/C member NASA winners recognized for achieving a zero-lost-workday incident rate, or 25% below division lost-workday-incidence rate for 2013 included: Centerre Construction, Central Mechanical Inc., Drahota Commercial LLC, Encore Electric Inc., Fransen Pitman General Contractors, Golden Triangle Construction, Haselden Construction, Heath Construction, Hensel Phelps, Howell Construction, Hyder Construction Inc., Kenny Electric, Kiewit Building Group Inc., LPR Construction, RK Mechanical Inc., Starker Construction Co., Trautman & Shreve Inc., and U.S. Engineering Co.

AGC/C members recognized for participating in the Colorado Stormwater Excellence Program (CSEP) were Fransen Pittman General Contractors, GH Phipps Construction Cos., Haselden Construction, Hyder Construction and Milender White Construction, Swinerton Builders and Waner Construction Co. Inc.

The Construction Health and Safety Excellence (CHASE) Partnering Program allows incentives to be granted to participating contractors (in good standing) by OSHA in exchange for commitments by those contractors to follow certain prescribed requirements and procedures in their company safety and health programs.

AGC/C firms recognized for their CHASE participation included ADK Electric, Belair Sitework Services, Calcon Constructors, Encore Electric, GH Phipps Construction Cos., Greiner Electric, Haselden Construction, Hyder Construction, Kenny Electric Services Inc., Mtech Mechanical, PCL Construction Services, Q3 Contracting, Saunders Construction, Swinerton Builders, The Weitz Co. and Total Plumbing.