The American Subcontractors Association of Colorado recognized its top member firms at the association’s annual awards program on April 20 in Denver. The evening was presided over by Bob Kinning, Total Plumbing, Inc., and chair of the ASAC Awards Program Committee; and committee members Pem Eberlein, AP Eberlein Co.; Kory George, Woods & Aitken LLC; Diane Hills, Diamond Excavating Inc.; Sonja Guenther, Will of Colorado; and Dave Ruddy, Hellman and Associates.

Photo by Jamie Martin, courtesy of ASAC
Scott Deering, (middle) ASAC president, Absolute Caulking & Waterproofing, received the ASAC Member Choice Award from Bob Kinning, Total Plumbing, and Diane Hills, Diamond Excavating.

ASAC offers a member safety program self-audit. The audit provides a tool for members to review their safety program in 20 areas of safety policy, procedure and performance. The self-audit is the cornerstone of the Excellence in Safety Awards, which take into consideration the total number of man hours worked, experience mod rate, recordable injuries, lost-work days, safety orientation and current safety goals.

The ceremony also included the 2013 ASAC Hall of Fame inductees and a presentation of the annual Ethics Award, which went to South Valley Drywall.

The 2013 ASAC Excellence in Safety Award Winners are:


• Up to 75,000 man hours—Absolute Caulking & Waterproofing Inc.

• 75,000 to 100,000 man hours—Diamond Excavating Inc.

• 100,000 to 300,000 man hours—Total Plumbing Inc.

General Contractors

• Up to 200,000 man hours—MW Golden Constructors

• 200,000 to 500,000 man hours—Mark Young Construction

• Over 1 million man hours—Adolfson & Peterson Construction

ASAC Excellence in Safety Awards also recognized two individuals nominated by their companies for safety excellence. The 2013 Outstanding Field Professional(s) of the Year went to:

• Charlie Geer, safety manager for HVAC Solutions Inc. Geer was responsible for bringing the firm’s safety program to a higher level. He was credited with implementing the hiring of an independent safety consultant for jobsite safety audits, lowering the company’s EMR Rating from 1.1% to .81 and designing and implementing an emergency building-evacuation plan for HVAC Solutions’ corporate offices and fabrication shop.

• Jim Wales, service carpenter for Mark Young Construction. Wales was nominated for the award by his firm because of his commitment to safety and his personal growth and development. Wales has been working with MYC since 2000 and has steadily worked his way up the company’s management ladder. He is a focused supervisor who takes the time to do safety right. He responds to safety concerns immediately and implements necessary changes.

ASAC’s 2013 Member Choice Award went to Scott Deering, current ASAC president and the president and owner of Absolute Caulking and Waterproofing. Deering has been a member of ASAC since 1998 and served as a board member before becoming the association’s president. Deering has supported and continues to support ASAC on various committees and special projects during his 15-year membership.

Other ASAC winners and their categories were: