Citation Award for Unbuilt Architecture

Belmar Childcare #12, Lakewood, ColoArchitect: Faleide Architecture Studio PC, Denver, and Carsten Roth Architekt, Hamburg, German

2011 Honor Awards
In addition to the design awards, five honor awards were presented by AIA Denver 2011 Honor Awards Jury Chair Kin DuBois. The Honor Awards Jury included Gary Desmond, David Tryba, Tania Salgado and Chris Kastelic.

James S. Sudler Award For Contribution to AIA Denver
Brad Buchanan
This award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the chapter, including achievements of people who have, by their professionalism, dedication, leadership, ability and commitment, improved the quality of services offered by AIA Denver.

25-Year Award
Denver Center for Performing Arts
This award recognizes the enduring quality of architectural design in a project in the AIA Denver chapter area that has withstood the test of time and still functions in its original capacity.

Young Architect of the Year Award
Brad Tomecek, Studio H:T, Denver
This award recognizes significant contributions made during the early stages of an architect’s career, which exemplify outstanding built or unbuilt work of any scale, as well as projects, initiatives and brilliant beginnings that warrant attention from the profession or the public.

Phil Milstein Award for Contributions by a Non-Architect
Carla Madison, Denver City Councilwoman (posthumous)
This award recognizes outstanding accomplishments by a non-architect in the AIA Denver chapter for contributing to the quality of the built environment.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Michael Brendle
This award recognizes an architect who has made significant contributions to AIA, the profession and the citizens of Denver.

2011 President’s Awards
Three President’s Awards were presented by AIA Denver 2011 President Kitty Yuen to individuals or groups who have made extraordinary contributions in supporting the mission of AIA Denver or local architecture and are selected at the discretion of the chapter president.
• Martha Bennett, President’s Diversity Legacy Award
• Tania Salgado
• AIA Denver AIA+2030 Professional Series Task Force