An independent jury of design and construction professionals selected ENR California's 2012 Best Projects. Entries were judged on five main criteria: Teamwork and Overcoming Challenges; Safety; Innovation and Contribution; Construction Quality and Craftsmanship; and Function and Aesthetic Quality of the Design. The jury could select one Project of the Year and multiple Awards of Merit in each category. Jurors also picked an overall Project of the Year, representing the best work across all categories. Jurors abstained from voting on projects with which they are affiliated or have a conflict of interest. This year, a jury of safety professionals also chose winners for our first-ever Best Safety Project awards.


Keith Boswell

Technical Director


San Francisco

Boswell oversees detailed design and construction documentation for all of SOM's San Francisco projects. He joined the firm in 1981, and his experience includes high-rise office buildings, museums, retail, government projects, multi-family residential structures and international and domestic airport passenger terminals. Boswell's international experience includes the Beijing headquarters for Lenovo, the Poly Corporation headquarters in Beijing, the U.S. embassy in Beijing, the U.S. Consulate in Guangzhou and the Ayala Tower One and Philippine Stock Exchange, both in Manila.


Christopher Dunne

Program Director

Los Angeles City College

Los Angeles

Dunne has more than 25 years of experience in program and construction management on large projects. He also has overseen major construction-management programs, internationally and domestically.


Michael Gemmill

Senior Vice President

Nabih Youssef Associates

San Francisco

Gemmill is a licensed structural engineer in California and received his Master of Science degree in structural engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.


John Nunan


Unger Construction


Nunan has been in the building industry for almost 40 years. He is the 2012 president of the Associated General Contractors of California and serves as a member of the AGC of America Executive Board.