Man Chung-Tang, chairman of infrastructure design firm T.Y. Lin, has been awarded the 2013 Gold Medal by the Institution of Structural Engineers for outstanding contribution to the structural design of major long span bridges around the world. He has over 44 years of design and construction engineering experience, working on more than 100 bridges globally, and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1995 for contributions invcable-stayed bridge design.

The Design-Build Institute of America has named Michael C. Loulakis to receive the 2013 Brunelleschi Lifetime Achievement Award for contributions to design and construction through leadership in advancement of integrated design-build project delivery. He is the founder of Capital Project Strategies LLC, a consulting firm that provides procurement, contracting and risk management advice on capital projects. The award is named for Filippo Brunelleschi, the Italian master builder whose most notable work is the Duomo of the Santa Maria del Fiore in Florence.

Four individuals will receive the 2014 Golden Beaver awards from The Beavers, a Los Altos, Calif., heavy construction  group.Receiving the supervision award is Darold “Scott” Hanson, whose 47-year marine construction management career includes serving as Kiewit’s substructures project manager on the $1.2-billion skyway section of the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge East Span replacement. Janice L. Tuchman, editor-in-chief of Engineering News Record, will receive the group’s service and supply award. She has led its editorial team to win numerous business journalism awards and has guided ENR into the digital era—converting to desktop publishing and launching the website and ten regional editions. Cited for engineering is F. Dave Zanetell, who recently joined Edward Kraemer & Sons after a 25-year career with the Federal Highway Administration, most recently as project manager for the Hoover Dam Bypass Bridge. Awarded for management is Scott S. Lynn, CEO of of Atkinson Construction, for relaunching the firm as a heavy construction unit of Clark Construction Co. after a 1997 bankruptcy. The awards will be on Jan. 17 in Los Angeles.

The Moles, a Woodcliff Lake, N.J., group of heavy-construction professionals, named Ronald E. Heuer and John L. Kolaya to receive its outstanding achievement awards for this year.Heuer is a McHenry, Ill., geotechnical consultant specializing in large underground projects. He was cited by The Beavers for engineering in 2008. Kolaya is president and chief operating officer of Yonkers Contracting Co., a Yonkers, N.Y., heavy constructor, with more than 40 years of industry experience. He also is a past president of the Moles and has long been active in education outreach for the group and in industry. Awards will be presented on Jan. 29 in New York City.

Richard L. Tucker has received the Ted C. Kennedy award from the National Academy of Construction, an Austin, Texas, group of leading U.S. construction professionals, for his industry career contributions. The award is named for its first recipient, an industry pioneer and founder of contractor BE&K, who died in 2012. Tucker is a retired chaired civil engineering educator at the University of Texas-Austin. He also is founder of the Construction Industry Institute, a leading industry research group, and a noted practitioner, consultant and organization improvement leader. Tucker is the third recipient of the award, given only periodically.

The group also has inducted 25 new members: Robert E. Alger, Lane Construction; Bernard Amadei, University of Colorado-Boulder; William A. Ames, Minard-Ames Insurance Services, Stephen T. Ayers, Architect of the Capitol; Gregory S. Bentley, Bentley Systems; John Borcherding, University of Texas at Austin; Joseph P. Colaco, CBM Engineers; James C. Dalton, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; Peter J. Davoren, Turner Construction Co.; Lester Edelman, Dawson & Associates; Deborah L. Grubbe, Operations and Safety Solutions; Carl T. Haas, University of Waterloo; Joseph J. Hunt, Ironworkers Union; Raymond E. Levitt, Stanford University; Michael K. Loose, Parsons Corp.; Eugene A. Lupia, CH2M Hill; Robert S. Peckar, Peckar & Abramson; E. Sarah Slaughter, Built Environment Coalition; Carl A. Strock, Bechtel; Stephen R. Thomas, Construction Industry Institute; Daniel R. Tishman, Tishman Construction Co; Margaret R. Walker, Dow; Donald E. Whyte, NCCER; and Harold L. Yoh III, Day & Zimmermann, Inc.

Inducted in October in Charlotte, N.C. as 2013 Distinguished Members of the American Society of Civil Engineers are technology leader James L. Barnard, educators and research pioneers Mark A. Bradford, Tuncer B. Edil, Marcelo H. Garcia, Philip L-F. Liu, Jery R. Stedinger and Erik H. VanMarcke; stormwater management expert Christopher B. Burke, visionary company manager John M. Dionisio, education proponent Thomas A. Lenox, precast concrete building innovator Vilas S. Mujumbar and civil engineering firm co-founder and professional mentor William S. Zoino.