The American Council of Engineering Cos. of Colorado, with support of the American Public Works Association, awarded $29,000 in scholarships to 10 Colorado college students who are actively pursuing engineering degrees at Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology-accredited Colorado engineering programs.

Courtesy of ACEC/CO
ACEC/CO Scholarship Committee member Les Botham (left), and ACEC/CO President Eric Young (far right), congratulated 2012 ACEC/CO scholarship recipients (from left) Rachel Sobke, University of Colorado; Andrea Fasan, Colorado State University; Hannah Cooling, Colorado School of Mines; John Wolfe, Colorado State University; and Meral Sarper.

At a reception honoring the scholars, ACEC/CO President Eric Young thanked council members and partners for their continued support of the program, which since its inception has awarded more than $282,000 in scholarships.

The council received 23 applications from students enrolled in Colorado engineering schools ABET-accredited engineering programs.  From this pool of candidates, 10 were selected for personal interviews that led to their scholarship award.

Applicants carry a heavy academic load, are active in student chapters of professional organizations, participate in community service programs and typically hold part-time jobs. After graduation, the students will begin careers in disciplines such as aerospace, chemical, biochemical, civil, electrical, energy, architectural and mechanical engineering, all of which contribute to public safety and welfare.

The scholarship program includes three memorial scholarship funds. The $6,000 Leonard Rice Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Meral Sarper, the first University of Colorado at Colorado Springs student to receive an ACEC/CO scholarship; the $5,000 William Russell Stoneman Scholarship was awarded to Hannah Cooling, Colorado School of Mines; and the $3,000 Fu Hua Chen Scholarship awarded to Eric DePinto, Colorado School of Mines.

John Wolfe, Colorado State University, received a $2,500 scholarship. ACEC/CO presented $2,000 scholarships to Rebecca Morales, Colorado School of Mines; Rachel Sobke, University of Colorado at Boulder; and MacKenzie Miller, University of Colorado at Boulder.  Ben Johnke, Colorado State University, received a $1,500 scholarship.

The $2,500 APWA Colorado Jack Bruce Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a student who participates in the ACEC/CO scholarship program. Daryn Hobbs, civil engineering student at the University of Colorado at Boulder, received this award. APWA additionally awarded its $2,500 Urban Watershed Research Institute Scholarship to Andrea Fasan, civil engineering student at Colorado State University.

Established in 1982, the ACEC/CO scholarship fund is supported by member firms and annual Council-supported fundraising efforts, and a 12-year partnership with APWA, which sponsors two additional scholarships for the ACEC/CO scholarship program.