The American Council of Engineering Cos. of Colorado honored Jeanne Sharps of Denver's Felsburg Holt & Ullevig as the 2012 Outstanding Woman in Engineering at a special ceremony on Feb. 29. The award recognizes an outstanding woman in a leadership position for professional achievements in the engineering profession who is a visible role model for young engineers. Sharps was among 12 women who were nominated for the award this year by their peers.

Sharps is among those who have made meaningful inroads for women seeking a career in civil engineering over the past three decades.  Throughout her career, she has embraced leadership roles in both professional and personal endeavors and has become a devoted mentor who fosters future generations of engineers who will thrive in the industry.

Her 26-year career has yielded a steady progression of increasingly challenging projects, some of which include the largest projects ever undertaken by Felsburg Holt & Ullevig.

Her success in delivering these projects has helped the firm emerge as a leader among regional transportation consultant engineering firms. Serving as a judge for CSU Engineering Days, she has had the opportunity to encourage and support the incoming generation of engineers and promote the value of civil engineering as a personally rewarding career, which is critical to the betterment of communities anywhere the students choose to work.

New Faces

Fifteen young professional engineers were honored as the council’s 2012 New Faces in Engineering, a program that promotes the accomplishments of young engineers who are among the extraordinary talents who are evolving consulting engineering profession.

The nominees are celebrated for their engineering contributions and resulting impact on society.

Emily Allen of Kennedy/Jenks Consultants was among an impressive group submitted to ACEC national for their New Faces and Young Professional competitions. Allen was selected for ACEC’s Young Professionals Award and will be honored in Washington D.C. in October.

New Faces nominees for 2012 also included Adam Becker, Eaton Energy Solutions; Neal Bohnen, S.A. Miro Inc.; Stephen Buechner, Applegate Group Inc.; Sarah Craig, Merrick & Co.; Fernando del Monte, Tetra Tech; Chris Hanna, Eaton Energy Solutions Inc.; Dan Harrington, Merrick & Co.; Gabe Krell, Kimley-Horn and Associates Inc.; Brendon Langenhuizen,  Wright Water Engineers Inc.; Chris Langum, Merrick & Co.; Erin Mathews, Lamp Rynearson; Rebecca Reel, The RMH Group; Pete Salmon, Eaton Energy Group; and Kevin Stegner, Merrick & Co.

The awards are presented the last week in February each year in celebration of Engineers Week. Annual Engineers’ Week campaigns are designed to raise awareness of engineering among the general public and celebrate those actively engaged in furthering the engineering profession.