The American Institute of Architects Colorado North chapter recognized its 2011 architectural design and honor award recipients on Sept. 9 at the Boulder Museum of Contemporary Art in Boulder.
Four design winners were selected from 20 entries submitted by members of AIA Colorado North. Todd Schliemann of Ennead Architects, New York, chaired the jury.

Merit Award for Commercial Architecture
Summit Elementary School, Casper, Wyo.
Architect: RB+B Architects Inc., Fort Collins, in association with Lee H. Skolnick Architecture + Design Partnership, New York, and Amundsen Associates, Casper, Wyo.

Citation Award for Unbuilt Architecture
961 Gapter, Boulder
Architect: HMH Architecture + Interiors, Boulder

Citation Award for Residential: Large
Chinook House, Boulder
Architect: Levitt Architects, Boulder

Citation Award for Interiors
Studio 2B, Denver
Architect: Studio H:T, Boulder

In addition to the design awards, AIA Colorado North 2011 President-Elect Justin Larson of Vaught Frye Larson Architects in Fort Collins presented four honor awards.

Firm of the Year
The Neenan Co., Fort Collins
This award recognizes a firm that has contributed to the profession and has set an example in design, service and leadership to AIA Colorado North over a period of at least 10 years.