An airport runway, zoo exhibit and Holocaust memorial are among the projects a panel of industry professionals awarded top honors for ENR Midwest's Best Projects 2014 competition, an annual program recognizing outstanding design and construction in a variety of categories.


Panelists selected winning projects on the basis of quality, innovation, safety and the ability of their project teams to overcome unique challenges. In all, projects were honored in categories ranging from Government Buildings and Health Care to Education, Renovation and Transportation. Winning projects will compete against winners from other regions in ENR's National Best of the Best Projects 2015 competition.

In addition to top honors, panelists honored projects with Awards of Merit in several categories.

All projects will be honored at an awards breakfast on Nov. 20. in Chicago. Projects will be profiled in the Nov. 17 edition of ENR Midwest, which also will reveal ENR Midwest's Project of the Year.

Following is a preview of this year's winners:


New Runway 10c-28C and Associated Taxiways, O'Hare Airport, Chicago

Submitted by: AECOM

Award of Merit, Target Field Station, Minneapolis.

Submitted by: Knutson Construction


Ohio Holocaust & Liberators Memorial, Columbus, Ohio

Submitted by: Turner Construction Co.


Schahfer Unit 14 FGD and Waste Water Treatment Plant Project, Wheatfield, Ind.

Submitted by: Sargent & Lundy

Government/Public Buildings

Waukesha County Health and Human Services Building, Waukesha, Wis.

Submitted by: Gilbane Building Co.

Award of Merit: Ping Tom Memorial Park Field House, Chicago

Submitted by: Wight & Co.

Green Project

Award of Merit: Berea College Deep Green Residence Hall, Berea, Ky.

Submitted by: Messer Construction Co.

Health Care

Mercy Health – West Hospital, Cincinnati, Ohio

Submitted by: Turner Construction Co.

Award of Merit: Wheaton Franciscan Health Care Franklin Medical Office Building, Franklin, Wis.

Submitted by: Riley Construction

Higher Education/Research

GE Aviation EPISCENTER at University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio

Submitted by: Shook Construction Co.

Mary Idema Pew Library Learning and Informational Commons, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, Mich.

Submitted by: SHW Group


Hastings Bridge, Hastings, Minn.

Submitted by: Parsons

Award of Merit: Cleveland Innerbelt Bridge, Cleveland, Ohio

Submitted by: HNTB Corp.

Interior Design/Tenant Improvements

Motorola Mobility Headquarters Relocation, Chicago

Submitted by: Skender Construction

Harry Caray's 7th Inning Stretch Restaurant & Museum, Chicago

Submitted by: Englewood Construction Co.

K-12 Education

MICDS STEM + C4C Building, Mary Institute and St. Louis Country Day School, Ladue, Mo.

Submitted by: BSI Constructors

University of Chicago Laboratory Schools – Earl Shapiro Hall, Chicago

Submitted by: Lend Lease


Award of Merit: Easton-Bell Sports Inc., Rantoul, Ill.

Submitted by: Peak Construction Corp.

Office/Retail/Mixed Use

The Z, Detroit

Submitted by: Sachse Construction

Award of Merit: Global Center for Health Innovation and Cleveland Convention Center, Cleveland, Ohio

Submitted by: Turner Construction Co.


William G. Milliken State Park and Harbor Outdoor Adventure Center for the Michigan DNR, Detroit

Submitted by: Walbridge

Award of Merit: Marquette Park Lakefront East, Gary, Ind.

Submitted by: The Skillman Corp.


Hyatt Place Harper Court, Chicago

Submitted by: Legat Architects Inc.

Small Projects

Westfield Old Orchard – The Cube, Skokie, Ill.

Submitted by: Syska Hennessy Group

Award of Merit: Union Station Grand Hall and Market, St. Louis

Submitted by: Paric Corp.

Specialty Contracting

Simon Skjodt International Orangutan Center, Indianapolis

Submitted by: Midwest Constructors

Award of Merit: Adjustable Forms, Lombard, Ill.

Submitted by: DLR Group


University of Wisconsin Camp Randall Stadium Student Athlete Performance Center, Madison, Wis.

Submitted by: JP Cullen

Award of Merit: Lambeau Field North & South End Zone Stadium Improvements, Green Bay, Wis.

Submitted by: Miron Construction Co.


Cat Islands Chain Reconstruction, Green Bay Wis.

Submitted by: Michels Corp.

Award of Merit: St Joseph Disinfection Facilities and Effluent Pump Station, St. Louis

Submitted by: Garney Construction

The ENR franchise is indebted to the competition's six-member panel of judges, who include:

Shawn Anderton, vice president, Graycor Industrial Constructors Inc.

Donald Greenwell Jr., executive vice president, Walbridge

Dan Meckes, CEO, Crawford, Murphy & Tilly Inc.

Paul Parry, principal, KJWW Engineering Consultants

David Peterson, senior vice president, ERMCO Inc.

Tim Tracey, principal, office director, Smith Group/JJR

Thanks to all who submitted entries, and congratulations to the winners!