A zoo habitat, arts center, art museum and a pair of federal buildings are among the projects a panel of industry professionals awarded top honors in ENR Midwest's Best Projects 2013 competition, an annual program recognizing outstanding design and construction in a variety of categories.


Panelists selected winning projects on the basis of design and construction quality, innovation, safety and the ability of their project teams to overcome unique challenges. In all, projects were honored in categories ranging from Government Buildings and Health Care to Landscaping, Water/Environment and Renovation. All winning projects will compete against against winners from other regions in ENR's National Best of the Best Projects 2013 competition.

In addition to top honors, panelists also honored projects with Awards of Merit in several categories.

All projects will be honored at an awards breakfast at the Crowne Metro Chicago Plaza in Chicago on Nov. 22. Additionally, projects will be profiled in the Nov. 18 edition of ENR Midwest, which also will reveal ENR Midwest's Project of the Year.

Following is a preview of this year's winners:


Duluth International Airport New Passenger Terminal, Duluth, Minn. Submitted by: Reynolds, Smith and Hills Inc.


The Eli & Edythe Broad Art Museum, East Lansing, Mich. Submitted by: Barton Malow

Award of Merit: St. Louis Art Museum Extension, St. Louis. Submitted by Guarantee Electrical Co.


REO Town Headquarters and Cogeneration Facility, Lansing, Mich. Submitted by: Burns & Roe Enterprises Inc.

Award of Merit: Marathon Detroit Heavy Oil Upgrade Project, Detroit,. Submitted by: Fluor

Government/Public Buildings

Birch Bayh Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse Modernization and Renovation, Indianapolis. Submitted by Shiel Sexton Co.

Award of Merit: Engine Company 16, Chicago. Submitted by: Public Building Commission of Chicago

Green Project

John C. Kluczynski Federal Building, Chicago. Submitted by Cannon Design

Health Care

Owensboro Health Regional Hospital, Owensboro, Ky. Submitted by: Turner Construction Co.

Award of Merit: Good Samaritan Regional Health Center, Mount Vernon, Ill. Submitted by: McCarthy Building Cos. Inc.

Higher Education/Research

University of Chicago – Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts, Chicago. Submitted by: Turner Construction Co.

Award of Merit: Wisconsin Energy Institute, Madison, Wis. Submitted by: Mortenson Construction


Wacker Drive Viaduct and Congress Parkway Interchange Reconstruction Project, Chicago. Submitted by: City of Chicago Department of Transportation

Interior Design/Tenant Improvement

Cafe Galileo's, Chicago. Submitted by Legat Architects Inc.

K-12 Education

Orchard Place Elementary School Additions and Renovations, Des Plaines, Ill. Submitted by: Wight & Co.


De Pere Riverwalk and Wildlife Viewing Pier, De Pere, Wis. Submitted by: Janke General Contractors Inc. and Zenith Tech


Award of Merit: Nippon Sharyo Manufacturing Facility, Rochelle, Ill. Submitted by: Kajima Building & Design Group, Inc.

Office/Retail Mixed Use

BAE Systems Sterling Heights Facility, Sterling Heights, Mich. Submitted by: Smith Group/JJR


St. Louis Central Library, St. Louis. Submitted by BSI Constructors

Award of Merit: Hilton Garden Inn, Milwaukee. Submitted by: Stevens Construction Corp.


Hilton Columbus Convention Center Hotel, Columbus, Ohio. Submitted by: HOK

Award of Merit: The Moderne, Milwaukee. Submitted by: Rinka Chung Architecture Inc.

Small Projects

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden Cat Canyon, Cincinnati. Submitted by: HGC Construction Co.

Specialty Contracting

Award of Merit: Methocel, Midland Michigan. Submitted by: Niles Industrial Coatings


University of Michigan, Crisler Center Expansion, Ann Arbor, Mich. Submitted by: Spence Brothers

Award of Merit: La Bahn Arena


Sheboygan River AOC Great Lakes Legacy Act-Sediment Remediation Project, Sheboygan, Wis., Submitted by: Ryba-Terra Contracting Joint Venture

The competition's five-member panel of judges included:

Shawn Anderton, vice president, Graycor

Chuck Binkowski, vice president, industrial group, Barton Malow Co.

Greg Douglas, vice president, design services, Miron Construction Co.

Paul Parry, principal, KJWW Engineering Consultants

Tim Tracey, design principal, Smith Group/JJR

Thanks to all who submitted entries, and congratulations to the winners!