A homeland security center, mausoleum, and public park and harbor are among the projects a panel of industry professionals awarded top honors in ENR Midwest's Best Projects 2012 competition, an annual program recognizing outstanding design and construction in a variety of categories.


Panelists selected winning projects on the basis of design and construction quality, innovation, safety and the ability of their project teams to overcome unique challenges. In all, projects were honored in categories ranging from Civil, Government Buildings and Landscaping to Multifamily Residential, Transportation and Sports Facilities. All winning projects will compete against against winners from eight other regions in ENR's National Best of the Best Projects 2012 competition.

In addition to top honors, panelists also honored projects with Awards of Merit in several categories.

All projects will be honored at an awards breakfast at the Crowne Metro Chicago Plaza on Nov. 29. They also will be featured in the Nov. 26 edition of ENR Midwest, which will reveal the region's Grand Prize Winner: ENR Midwest's Project of the Year.

Following is a preview of this year's winners:

Best Civil/Infrastructure Project

Constructed Wetlands for Treatment of Combined Sewer Overflows, Washington, Ind. Submitted by: Bernardin Lochmueller & Associates

Award of Merit: North 4th Street Bridge Utilities Relocation, Tomahawk, Wis. Submitted by: Short Elliott Hendrickson Inc.

Best Cultural/Worship Project

Lakewood Cemetary Garden Mausoleum, Minneapolis. Submitted by: Mortenson Construction

Award of Merit: Cranbrook Art Museum and Collections Building, Bloomfield Hills, Mich. Submitted by: SmithGroupJJR

Best Government/Public Building Project

Hanover Park Police Headquarters, Hanover Park, Ill. Submitted by: Leopardo Companies Inc.

Award of Merit: Livingston County Law & Justice Center, Pontiac, Ill. Submitted by: Frederick Quinn Corp.

Best Green Building Project

Clock Shadow Building, Milwaukee, Wis. Submitted by: Continuum Architects + Planners SC

Award of Merit: Rivers Casino, Des Plaines, Ill. Submitted by: Pepper Construction Co.

Best Health Care Project

Rush University Medical Center – The Tower, Chicago. Submitted by: Jacobs

Award of Merit: Cleveland Clinic New Data Center, Brecksville, Ohio. Submitted by: Gensler

Best Higher Education/Research Project

Homeland Security Education Center, Glen Ellyn, Ill. Submitted by: Legat Architects Inc.

Award of Merit: University of Michigan Law School Addition, Ann Arbor, Mich. Submitted by: Walbridge

Interior Design/Tenant Improvement

Award of Merit: Local 17 – International Association of Heat & Frost Insulators, Tinley Park, Ill. Submitted by: Englewood Construction Inc.

Best K-12 Education Project

Early Learning Center, Des Plaines, Ill. Submitted by: Wight & Company

Award of Merit: Westminster Christian Academy, St. Louis, Mo. Submitted by: Brinkmann Constructors

Best Landscape/Hardscape/Urban Development Project

31st Street Harbor, Chicago. Submitted by: AECOM

Award of Merit: Central Riverfront: The Banks, Cincinnati, Ohio. Submitted by: The Banks Public Partnership

Best Multifamily Residential/Hospitality Project

St. John's on the Lake: South Tower, Milwaukee, Wis. Submitted by: Perkins Eastman

Award of Merit: Ronald McDonald House, Chicago. Submitted by: Bulley & Andrews

Best Office Project

Delta Dental of Michigan Headquarters, Okemas, Mich. Submitted by: Walbridge

Award of Merit: Astellas Headquarters of the Americas, Glenview, Ill. Submitted by: Goettsch Partners

Best Renovation/Restoration Project

Calefee Law Offices, Cleveland, Ohio. Submitted by: Vocon

Award of Merit: Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo. Submitted by: JE Dunn Construction

Best Retail/Mixed Use Project

Maplewood Mall Renovation, St. Paul, Minn. Submitted by: Pepper Construction

Award of Merit: Chicago Sports Depot, Chicago. Submitted by: RGLA Solutions Inc.

Best Small Project

St. Louis Science Center, Boeing Hall, St. Louis, Mo. Submitted by: Alberici Constructors, Inc.

Best Specialty Contracting Project

CITGO Lemont Refinery Coker Turnaround, Lemont, Ill. Submitted by: Structural

Best Sports/Entertainment Project

Ford Center, Evansville, Ind. Submitted by: Hunt Construction Group

Award of Merit: Carver-Hawkeye Arena Addition & Renovation, Iowa City, Iowa. Submitted by: Knutson Construction

Best Transportation Project

South Bend Regional Airport Concourse A Expansion, South Bend, Ind. Submitted by: Ken Herceg & Associates Inc.

Award of Merit: Stearns Road Corridor, Kane County, Ill. Submitted by: Alfred Benesch & Co.

The competition's six-member panel of judges included:

  • Shawn Anderton, director, pre-construction services, Graycor

  • Abigail Clary, principal, HDR Architecture

  • Greg Douglas, vice president, design services, Miron Construction Co.

  • Paul Parry, principal, KJWW Engineering Consultants

  • Chris Schnurbusch, regional president, Crossland Construction

  • Jeff Riemer, executive vice president, Lend Lease

Thanks to all those who submitted entries, and congratulations to the winners!