AGC of Colorado’s board of directors and staff members accepted the 2017 Chapter of the Year award at the AGC of America awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. AGC of Colorado was recognized for its emphasis on workforce development, legislative advocacy and membership initiatives. AGC of America CEO Stephen Sandherr noted that the chapter has found new and effective ways to communicate with its members, keeping member companies up to date on local business and political developments. The chapter distinguished itself for its ability to advocate on behalf of the construction community, Sandherr added.

“The AGC of Colorado prides itself on being an advocate and trusted resource for our members,” said Michael Gifford, president and CEO, AGC of Colorado. “This honor belongs to each member who donated their time advancing our industry in Colorado.”

“Chapters provide vital support for thousands of hard-working construction contractors,” said Art Daniel, 2017 president of AGC America and president and COO of AR Daniel Construction Services Inc. “Without their tireless efforts, it is hard to imagine where our industry would be today.”

Nancy Clanton, president of the American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado, presents the General Palmer Award to Technically Speaking Inc.’s Jill. S. Tietjen at the association’s Engineering Excellence Award luncheon in November. The award is given to an engineer who has made a significant contribution to Colorado, received community recognition and advanced the engineering profession.

With more than 40 years in the electric-utility industry, Tietjen has made significant contributions to engineering through her consulting career and service on several boards of directors for various associations and firms. Among her accomplishments, she has provided expert-witness testimony on behalf of electric utilities before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and several state commissions and worked for five years as an accreditor on behalf of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. She is the first woman to have served on the Rocky Mountain Electrical League’s board and was elected its first female president.

How to Submit Your News

Do you have some great images from an AEC event in the Mountain States that you want to share? Visit and click on “Photos.”