The judges selected the winning ENR Texas & Louisiana entries based on the following criteria: overcoming challenges and teamwork; safety; innovation and contribution to the industry and community; construction quality and craftsmanship; and design function and aesthetics. Two separate panels determined Best Projects winners and safety winners. This year’s jury included:

Kim Allen

Kim AllenAssociate Director for Knowledge Management
Construction Industry Institute
University of Texas at Austin

Allen’s current responsibilities include management and oversight of CII’s vast body of knowledge, best practices, communities of practice, strategic communications and the executive leadership program.

Brian BenefielBrian Benefiel
Director of Preconstruction Services
HOAR Construction

Benefiel is responsible for leading planning, design and preconstruction for all of HOAR’s projects across Texas. He has also been a member of Houston’s USGBC chapter since 2006.

Catherine BezmanCatherine Bezman
Senior Director, Communications & Marketing
Associated General Contractors of America, Houston Chapter

Bezman oversees AGC Houston’s internal and external communications. She previously worked for a Houston-based architectural firm and is a member of the Rice Design Alliance.

Dana BirkesDana Birkes
Chief Marketing Officer, New Equipment Sales Director
Clifford Power Systems

Birkes is also on the board of Associated Builders & Contractors Service Corp. She is currently working with SMPS on the “Book of Knowledge,” a comprehensive resource guide for the business development and marketing profession within the AEC industry.

Carol J. Friedland
Cajun Constructors Asst. Professor
Carol J. Friedland Bert S. Turner Dept. of Construction Management
Louisiana State University

Friedland’s current research and teaching focus is on hazard resistant and industrial construction. Before joining LSU, she was a project engineer with Kiewit, specializing in powerplant construction in the Southeastern U.S.

Steve PensonSteve Penson
Vice President
Austin Commercial

Penson joined Austin Commercial in 1997 and oversees its national aviation operations. He chairs the board of Fugasity Corp. and is chairman of the University of Texas at Dallas Jindal School of Management Advisory Council.

Thomas SofrankoThomas Sofranko
Associate Dean
College of Art + Design
Louisiana State University

Sofranko is a licensed architect and has been teaching at LSU for 23 years. He was born in Washington, D.C., and earned his architecture degree at Kent State University. He has worked at a variety of firms in Ohio and Florida.


Safety Judges

Trey RivetTrey Rivet
Director of Safety & Workforce Development
Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance

Rivet leads all of GBRIA’s safety, health, security and workforce development committees, technology exchanges, contractor safety and health audit program, contractor safety and workforce development awards programs, surveys and other GBRIA activities related to safety and workforce development.

Steve Trickel
Vice President of Safety, Health and Environmental
Steve Trickel Zachry Group of Cos.

Trickel’s primary responsibilities include strategic planning for safety, health and environmental. He leads a support team of 300 professionals working at more than 100 facilities across the U.S. Trickel has more than 26 years of EH&S experience and is a designated certified safety professional.