Sheldon J. �Red� Mandell, Chicago demolition industry veteran and first president of the National Demolition Association, received the association�s Lifetime Achievement Award for the influential role he played in the growth of the association. He currently serves as chairman of the Board of National Wrecking Company, a family-owned business he has managed since 1952.

div id="articleExtrasA" div id="articleExtrasB"


St. Louis Sheet Metal Workers Local 36 apprentice Dustin Walker was awarded top honors as a service apprentice at the Annual International Sheet Metal Competition hosted by the International Training Institute in Las Vegas, Nev. Walker is in the final year of his service apprenticeship with Local 36 and Sheet Metal Contractors Inc. of DeSoto, Mo.

St. Louis-based Holland Construction Service Inc.�s superintendent Steve Rapp received the Best General Contractor Field Employee award at the recent American Subcontractors Association - Midwest Council�s 17th Annual Awards Gala.

Mark Porlier , electrical engineer at Clark Dietz Inc., was presented the 2010 Airport Engineer of the Year award by the Wisconsin Airport Management Association. The award recognizes his professional contribution to the Wisconsin airport engineering field and his recent energy efficiency LED Lighting Upgrade project at the Lakeland Airport/Noble F. Lee Memorial Field in Arbor Vitae, Wis.

Geotechnology Inc. of St. Louis - a provider of geotechnical and environmental engineering, materials testing, geophysics and drilling � has announced that Edmond D. (Ed) Alizadeh has been elected a Fellow of the ASFE/The Geoprofessional Business Association. Alizedeh is the president and CEO of Geotechnology Inc. and a past president of the ASFE.

The Building Contractors Association of Northeast Indiana recently announced the recipients of its 2010 scholarships. These awards are offered to students who are pursuing careers in construction or a related field. The Presidential Merit Scholarship is in the amount of $1,500. This year�s winner is David Schwieterman, Purdue University � Building Construction Management. The $750 Construction Career Academy Scholarships were awarded to Adam Braun, Ivy Tech State College � Construction Technology, Adams Central High School; Jake Hutsell, Ivy Tech State College � Construction Technology, West Noble High School; Aaron Miller, Ivy Tech State College � Construction Tekchnology, DeKalb High School; and Christopher Rose, Fort Wayne Electrical JATC � Pending, Fremont High School.

Tom Bauer , construction superintendent with Briohn Building Corp. of Brookfield, Wis., was named 2010 Superintendent of the Year by the American Subcontractors Association of Wisconsin. The award was presented at the Association�s annual banquet at the Wisconsin Club on April 27th.

Gehl Co. announced that Gehl Foundation awarded two $20,000 collegiate scholarships for the academic year beginning in the fall of 2010. Graduating senior Max A. Brudvig of Cedarburg, Wis., son of Gehl Co. employee David Brudvig, and graduating senior Meghan Vogt of Pierce, Neb., daughter of Gehl Co. employee Gale Vogt, are the recipients of the scholarships for 2010.

Kozeny-Wagner recently recognized the following employees for their outstanding commitment to the firm: Roger Loesche, CFO, received 2009 Chairman of the Year Award from the AGC of St. Louis. Fred Biermann, director of pre-construction, received Best General Contractor Office Employee Award from the American Subcontractors Association � Midwest Council.

div id="articleExtras"