The annual convention for Georgia Branch, AGC was held June 7-9 in Amelia Island, Fla., with more than 340 people attending. Speakers included AGC of America’s CEO Stephen Sandherr; Doug Pruitt, 2009 president of AGC of America and president of Sundt Construction; and Scott Shelar, executive director of the Construction Education Foundation of Georgia.

Chapter officers and board members were installed for the 2009-2010 year: They include: president - Dan Baker, Duffey Southeast of Cedartown, Ga.; vice president - Gary Newell, Collins & Co., Smyrna; secretary - Tony Pellicano, Pellicano Constructionof Albany; and treasurer -  Ken Swofford, Swofford Construction, Austell.

The chapter presented its 2009 SIR Award to E. Turner Collins for “a lifetime of distinguished service and individual contributions to the industry.” The association also presented its 2009 Build Georgia awards.