Each year, ENR Northwest assembles a group of judges, with varying specialties and expertise in the construction industry, to review, score and form a panel to determine Best Projects’ winners. Judges independently review entries, score each on pre-specified criteria, and convene with fellow judges to compare impressions and scores. The panels then select honorees for Best Project and Merit awards. (Judges recuse themselves in cases of conflict of interest.)

This year's judges are, in alphabetical order by first name: 

  • Brad Carpenter, Associate Principal, Clive Wilkinson Architects
  • John Schaufelberger, Professor and Dean Emeritus, College of Built Environments, University of Washington
  • Kyle Womack, Associate Principal, Hennebery Eddy Architects Inc. 
  • Natasha Morris, Associate Principal, CollinsWoerman

Next, judges will choose a Project of the Year from the Best Project-level winners listed below – which ENR will announce at the ENR Northwest Regional Best Projects Awards breakfasts. In addition, ENR will also announce our annual Excellence in Safety award winners soon as well.

All winning project teams — as well as our honorees for Design Firm of the Year, Contractor of the Year, Specialty Contractor of the Year and the Legacy Award — will be celebrated at ENR Northwest’s 2019 Regional Best Projects Awards. This year’s event will take place on Wednesday, Dec. 19 at the W Seattle. For more information and to register for the event, please click here!

Congratulations to this year’s winners!


  • Best Project: Concourse D Annex, at Sea-Tac Airport

Submitted by The Walsh Group

  • Award of Merit: Locomotive Service Facility at the Amtrak Seattle King Street Coach Yard

Submitted by PCL Construction Services Inc.


  • Best Project: Denny Substation

Submitted by POWER Engineers Inc.

Government/Public Building:

  • Best Project:  Gladys McCoy Health Department Headquarters

Submitted by JE Dunn Construction

Green Project:

  • Best Project: Sitka

Submitted by Exxel Pacific

Health Care

  • Best Project: The Gary and Christine Rood Family Pavilion, Oregon Health & Science University

Submitted by ZGF Architects

Higher Education/Research

  • Best Project: Life Sciences Building at the University of Washington

Submitted by Skanska USA Building Inc.


  • Best Project: WSDOT Alaskan Way Tunnel Design Build, SR 99 Deep Bored Tunnel

Submitted by HNTB Corp.

  • Award of Merit: Broadway Bridge Rall Wheel Replacement

Submitted by Hardesty & Hanover

Interior/Tenant Improvement

  • Best Project: International Software Developer Buildings 121 & 122 Tenant Improvements 

Submitted by Howard S. Wright, a Balfour Beatty company

K-12 Education

  • Best Project: Mountlake Terrace and Lynnwood Elementary Schools

Submitted by BNBuilders


  • Best Project: First Tech Federal Credit Union, Oregon Corporate Office 

Submitted by Swinerton 


  • Best Project: The State Hotel

Submitted by Exxel Pacific

  • Award of Merit: McMenamins Elks Temple Renovation

Submitted by Andersen Construction


  • Best Project: Arrivé Tower

Submitted by PCL Construction Services Inc.


  • Best Project: Providence Park Stadium Expansion

Submitted by Turner Construction Co.