The Associated General Contractors of California (AGC CA) recently installed Mike Blach, chairman of San Jose, Calif. – based Blach Construction, as its new 2020 president. The announcement came at the organization’s annual Installation and Awards Gala on January 31 at the historic Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco. Blach will serve a one-year term in the position. Blach Construction Project Manager Brian Azzopardi also was also sworn in as state board director.

“The AGC CA is an important organization to me, both personally and professionally,” said Blach in a news release. “The peer networking is unparalleled; I find it extremely valuable to learn how others in the industry are conquering the same challenges we face.”

This year’s black-tie gala was attended by more than 700 industry leaders and served as the kick-off celebration for AGC CA’s Centennial anniversary. And for the first-time ever, the organization combined the installation of its 2020 officers with its prestigious Constructor awards ceremony.

Along with Blach, AGC of California welcomed its entire slate of 2020 officers during the event. They also include: President Elect Dina Kimble, Royal Electric Co.; Vice President, Building Division Brad Jeanneret, Hensel Phelps; Vice President, Highway & Transportation Division Clinton W. Myers, Myers & Sons Construction, LP; Vice President, Utility & Infrastructure Division Jim Blois, Blois Construction, Inc.; Vice President, Specialty Contractors Greg Timmerman, ISEC, Inc.; Treasurer Steve Rule, Turner Construction; and Immediate Past President Jerome Di Padova, Skanska USA Civil.

Blach has been a part of the company his father founded since he was a teenager, working his way up from apprentice carpenter and job clerk to an estimator and project manager. He took over leadership of Blach Construction at age 26 following his father’s untimely passing and has guided the company through three decades of sustained growth and achievement.

Chairman since late 2017, Blach continues to provide strategic oversight, while leading the firm’s involvement in key industry associations such as AGC CA. Blach is a well-respected leader throughout the Bay Area and has earned numerous awards and recognitions for his dedicated efforts in business, the community and philanthropy.

“What I admire most about AGC CA is the collaborative, helpful nature of everyone involved,” continued Blach. “When my dad passed away, so many wonderful members stepped up to guide and mentor me. At the time, we were an emerging contractor and they truly helped me to navigateour firm to success. I’m honored to continue this legacy and serve the AGC CA and its members at this level.”

AGC of California also handed out a host of awards, including nine Constructor award winners selected from a field of 25 previously announced finalist projects in its 32nd Annual Constructor Awards program. The association also honored the previously announced Achievement Award and Construction Education Friend Award winners. Those individuals were selected for their extensive service to the construction industry and/or to AGC over the years.

AGC of California’s 2019 award winners include:

Construction Education Friend Award Winner

Tammy Castillo, Local 3 Operating Engineers

Castillo has a 30-year career in building and construction trades, working in various capacities at Local 3 where she serves as director of apprenticeship. She is an advocate for women and minorities in the building and construction trades, serving on numerous committees and panels promoting women in construction.

Associate Achievement Award

Abbigail Brown, CPM Logistics LLC

Brown is the owner and president of CPM Logistics, a California firm committed to supporting small contractors in the construction Industry. Brown founded CPM in 2013, and has since earned a reputation as a respected member of the transportation industry.

Specialty Contractor Achievement Award

John Gutierrez, Griffith Company

John Gutierrez has worked in the construction industry for 15 years after retiring from the U.S. Navy where he served 21 years active duty. He started at Marina Landscape working as an estimator and in business development before moving to Griffith Company. He served as Chair of the Specialty Contractors Council from 2016 to 2018.

The 2019 Constructor Awards winners include:

Heavy Civil Under $20 Million

Granite Construction Company for “Lost Creek Dam Modification Project”

Heavy Civil $20-$100 Million

Teichert Construction for “San Francisquito Creek”

Heavy Civil Over $100 Million

Kiewit Infrastructure West Co. for “Spillways, Oroville Emergency Recovery”

Builder Under $30 Million

Clark Construction Group – California LP for “Pacific Visions at the Aquarium of the Pacific

Builder $30-$200 Million

Hensel Phelps – Herzog, A Joint Venture for “Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority Division 16 – Southwestern Yard”

Specialty Under $10 Million

Royal Electric Company for “Bidwell Canyon State Park”

Specialty Over $10 Million

Brightview Landscape Development Inc. for “Orange County Great Park Sports Park”

Excellence in Partnering

Kiewit Infrastructure West Co. for “Spillways, Oroville Emergency Recovery”

Constructor Awards finalist judges for the 2019 Awards program included: Jim McLamb, The Clark Construction Group (Building Division Chair); Clinton Myers, Myers & Sons Construction, LP (Joint Engineering Chair); Greg Timmerman, ISEC, Inc. (Specialty Contractors Chair); Bert Somers, Ferrovial Agroman US Corp (Awards Committee Vice Chair); Erwin Villegas, Frank Schipper Construction, Co. (Awards Committee Vice Chair); Pat Kelly, Granite Construction (Awards Committee – 3 rd Rep); and Randy Iwasaki, Contra Costa Transportation Authority (Outside Industry Judge).