A panel of safety experts has chosen the winners of ENR California’s Excellence in Safety award, part of the Best Projects 2014 competition that will be profiled in more depth in the Dec. issue of ENR California, and presented at two awards banquets in early December.

The competition was fierce, with more than 75 entries vying for this year’s safety award. The winners are:

Excellence in Safety – Northern California

San Jose McEnery Convention Center Expansion and Renovation in San Jose, submitted by Hunt Construction Group

blog post photo

Excellence in Safety – Southern California

Riverside Convention Center in Riverside, submitted by Turner Construction Co.

blog post photo

Project of the Year Nominees

Four projects are in the running as ENR California's 'Project of the Year,’ from the main category winners that were previously announced in Northern and Southern California.  The nominees are:

  • DPR Construction Net Zero Energy Designed Office Renovation
  • Ivanpah Solar Electric Generating System
  • Orange County Great Park - South Lawn Project
  • Wilshire Boulevard Temple

The winner(s) will be announced at the banquets.

Due to the overwhelming participation from the construction community in the awards again this year, we are thrilled to host two banquets to honor the winners. Be sure to mark your calendars to meet and congratulate all of the project teams.. On Dec. 2, we will hold a breakfast awards ceremony at the InterContinental San Francisco Hotel, where project teams in the northern half of California will be honored. For more information, visit http://construction.com/events/2014/best-projects/san-francisco.asp

On Dec. 4, we’ll celebrate the winning teams for projects located in the southern half of California, at the Marriott Long Beach, during a breakfast banquet. For more information, visit http://construction.com/events/2014/best-projects/long-beach.asp

Also at the banquets, we will also take the opportunity to honor the firms that were selected throughout the year as our Owner, Design Firm, Contractor and Specialty Contractor of the Year. The winners this year were L.A. Metro, HOK, Webcor Builders and California Drywall. Hope to see you there!