Cindy Sato over at the Construction Employers’ Association headquarters in Sacramento forwards news about CEA’s annual general membership dinner meeting recently in Concord where the association recognized 16 building contractors that received the 2011 CEA President’s Safety Award.

Recipients of the award reported a total incident rate at least 50% below the industry average; a lost workday incident rate at least 50% below the industry average; and an experience modification rate of less than or equal to .70. They were also recognized as a Cal/OSHA Voluntary Protection Program participant (VPP), or otherwise demonstrated a comprehensive safety training program. 

The President’s Safety Awards were presented to the following firms by CEA President F. Robert Hood of Clark Construction Group – California, LP and CEA Safety Committee Chairperson Dana Lahargoue of Roebbelen Contracting, Inc.

Award winners are:
C. Overaa & Co., Richmond
Clark Construction Group – California, LP, Oakland
Dome Construction Corporation, South San Francisco
DPR Construction, Redwood City
Gonsalves & Stronck Construction Co., Inc., San Carlos
Herrero Contractors, Inc., San Francisco
McCarthy Building Companies, Inc., San Francisco
Nibbi Bros. Associates, Inc., San Francisco
Performance Contracting, Inc., Richmond
Performance Mechanical, Inc., Pittsburg
S. J. Amoroso Construction Co., Inc., Redwood Shores
Skanksa USA Building, Inc., Oakland
Swinerton Builders, San Francisco
TBI Construction & Construction Management, Inc., San Jose
The Core Group, San Jose
XL Construction Corporation, Milpitas

Nibbi Bros. Associates, Inc. of San Francisco was the recipient of the CEA Most Improved Safety Program Award. Though Nibbi Bros has had a strong safety program for many years, as demonstrated by their Cal/OSHA-VPP participant status achieved in 2009, the company during the evaluation period had a 100% decrease in its Incident Rate, a 100% decrease in its Lost Workday Incident Rate, a 12% decrease in their Experience Modification Rate, as well as comprehensive training program.

Wade Obermann of Swinerton Builders was awarded the 2011 CEA Leadership in Safety Award in recognition for his many contributions to work place safety. He is vice president and corporate safety director for Swinerton. Aside from directing activities of the corporate safety department, he is responsible for monitoring compliance with health and safety laws for all operating divisions of Swinerton covering eight states. He has fostered OSHA partnerships in Colorado, Texas and Hawaii.  Not only was he instrumental in Swinerton Builders being one the first Cal/OSHA-VPP participants, he played an integral role in the development of the VPP program. He is also an active member in several organizations, including CEA and he has been an excellent resource and mentor to many safety and field personnel.

CEA will host a special luncheon on Feb. 3 at the Contra Costa Country Club in Pleasant Hill to present the 2011 CEA Excellence in Safety Awards.