The 98th annual meeting of the Utah Chapter of the Associated General Contractors was held in Salt Lake City on Jan. 23–25. The opening day awards presentation took place in the Grand Hall of the historic Union Pacific train station. The 2020 leadership team for AGC of Utah, installed at the convention, includes (from left): Rich Thorn, president, AGC of Utah; Scott Okelberry, president, Sunroc Corp., and AGC Utah vice chairman of the board; Darin Zwick, president & CEO, Zwick Construction Co., and 2020 chairman, AGC of Utah; Thom Morgan, founder, Morgan Asphalt, and immediate past chairman, AGC of Utah; and Brandon Squire, president, Ralph L. Wadsworth Construction, and secretary/treasurer, AGC of Utah. “It has been another good year to be a contractor in Utah,” Thorn says. “We approved 81 new members last year, putting us at just under 600.”

The Colorado Contractors Association held its 87th Annual Conference on Jan. 30-31 in Denver. During the event, CCA honored three inductees as Colorado Construction Pioneers. They are Thomas Caldwell, Flatiron Structures; William Keller, APC Inc.; and Larry Ware, Alpha Milling. The association also honored outgoing President Dan Tezak of Tezak Heavy Equipment Co. and elected new officers and board members for 2020. Dick Brasher of Concrete Works Colorado was elected president, Levi Lowell of T. Lowell Construction Inc. will be vice president and Craig Briggs of Kiewit Infrastructure Co. was elected the association’s treasurer. 

At the CCA Annual Luncheon, Rep. Matt Gray (pictured), chairman of the Colorado House Transportation Committee,  spoke to participants about his hopes for transportation funding in the state during this year’s legislative session.