Northwest Construction’s annual awards competition honors the best in design and construction over the past year. Diverse categories, from engineering design to worship, acknowledge the excellent work and the variety of disciplines in the industry today.

While it’s clear that the economy has taken a toll on the industry and the number of projects, judges still had to narrow down 75 outstanding entries to the group of winners you will read about in the pages ahead.

The staff would like to thank all of the firms who took time to submit their best work this year.

Some winners were eligible to compete in the McGraw-Hill Construction’s Best of the Best Awards for top honors among projects from all 10 Regional Publications throughout the U.S. This year’s national winners will be announced on our website and profiled in Engineering News-Record in January.

Judging Criteria

Project eligibility was limited to those that were completed between September 2009 and August 2010. Winning projects were chosen on how the following criteria related to the category in which the project was entered: Overcoming Challenges/Teamwork, safety, Innovation/Contribution to the Industry, Construction Quality/Craftsmanship and the function and Aesthetic Quality of the Design. A panel of judges was assembled and met in September to select the winning projects. The panel included distinguished representatives from architecture firms, general contractors, engineers and subcontractors.

Judges arrived at the winners first through a scoring process, and then through discussion and consensus. Judges could select no winner in a category, and any judge affiliated with a project abstained from voting.

Northwest Construction would like to thank the following professionals who worked extremely hard to bring you this year’s winners:

Northwest Jury

Marjorie Brown, AIA, LEED AP, HDR Architecture, Inc.
Mark Cork, AIA, LEED AP, Mahlum
Jim Duncan, P.E., FACEC, Sparling
J. Mark Ludtka, AIA, LEED AP, Callison
Jennifer A. Nye, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Otak, Inc.
Mark Ojendyk, McKinstry Co.
John Schaufelberger, Ph.D., P.E., Dept. of Construction Management, University of Washington
Bill Valela, S.D. Deacon Corp. of Washington

Come Celebrate With Us

The Northwest awards banquet will be held at the Seattle Marriott Waterfront on the morning of Thursday, December 9th. To attend, visit .

Each winning project is profiled on the following pages. The project team information was provided by the submitting firm. Due to space limitations, not all project participants could be listed. All photos are courtesy of the project’s submitter, unless otherwise noted. To enter next year, check back at for the entry form.